drugstore · Lips

LA Colors Matte Lipstick Review & Swatches

Recently, Dollar General has gotten in new LA Colors products. When I saw the displays, I was sooooo excited! I wanted to take home every product and swatch them all. They all looked so cute in their packages, and the color selection was gorgeous. I refrained…for a little while. I went back into the store today and snatched up two of their new lipsticks to try out. I couldn’t help myself. I have a makeup addiction, okay?

Although I did like the colors and packaging, I haven’t had the best luck with LA Colors. I’ve tried some lipsticks, nail polishes, loose and pressed eye shadows, and eyeliner. I liked the eyeliner well enough, but not much else impressed me. LA Colors, as you probably know, is famous for being an affordable makeup brand. Some of their products are only $1, which is about as good as you can get as far as retail prices. They are cheaper than elf, but they are not usually as good of quality as elf.

The reason I bring up the elf matte lipsticks is because of the price as I mentioned above. The elf matte lipsticks retail for $3 which is twice the price of these new LA Colors Matte Lipsticks. TWICE. Isn’t that crazy? These LA Colors are cheap! The LA Colors lipsticks are in normal shaped lipsticks whereas the elf ones are in long tubes with a sharpener at the end.

TenderandStarlet.jpg
LA Colors Matte Lipstick in Tender and Starlet

Blastin’ up some basics.

For $1.50 (Dollar General price) you can get 0.13oz of product which is fairly decent size for a lip product. They come in 16 different shades. I think that is fairly good for a newly launched line, especially from a company as affordable as LA Colors. The colors aren’t widely ranged, but they do cover different hues of pinks, purple, reds, and neutrals.

I bought two different ones in Tender and Starlet. I would have bought more for the price, but I didn’t want to end up with a bunch of lipsticks I’d never wear. I picked the two that stood out the most to me.

The packaging is cute in my opinion. On the bottom end of each tube are the color shade in a matte finish. They match the shade pretty well. A black band above that says LAC on it which looks sleek. The downfall to this is the cap. It’s clear with “Matte Lipstick” written on it. It reminds me of the Wet n Wild setup where the lipstick sticks out of the tube. If you aren’t careful, you can get lipstick on the cap.

So…are they good?

I’m just going to come out and say it: YES.

These are so freaking good. I don’t know if that’s the proper thing to say on a review, but I’m gonna say. Honestly, I did not think they would pan out.

“$1.50? LA Colors? Eh…I’m just buying it for the pretty color. It’s probably going to be patchy as heck, and I’ll have to reapply it every hour.”(Overly dramatic thoughts)

 

lalipstickswatches.jpg
LA Colors Matte Lipstick in Tender and Starlet swatches

Tender comes off like a pinky-peach neutral. Starlet swatches more of a pink-red on the arm, but it is very red when applied to the lips.

Wear, oh wear…

As soon as I got out of Dollar General and into my car, I picked Tender out of the bag and put it on. It was smooth and pigmented. I was excited! I wore it on my commute home and had no trouble with smearing around my mouth or comfort. It transferred onto my water bottle about thirty seconds after application. I was a little off-put at this, but I felt it dry down in about two to three minutes. I did the hand test and only had a faint bit of color transfer. I licked my lips, and everything was fine.

Later when I got home, the product was still on my lips. Full-on color. I was hungry by this time, so I had to eat. I ate a messy meal: spaghetti and garlic bread. I checked the mirror after I finished and saw that there was only a faint bit of color left.

I needed to try the red Starlet color. It went on just as well as the Tender color, which is much lighter than this. This red is basically a straight up red. It has a faint sense of pink but not orange like many other reds. I feel Starlet wore better than Tender. It stayed on through eating better than the Tender color, but it did not stay on all the way. I looked like I had only lip liner on with drooping color going into my mouth. I definitely had to reapply.

closedlipstender
LA Colors Matte Lipstick in Tender lip swatch
closedlipsstarlet
LA Colors Matte Lipstick in Starlet lip swatch

Sorry for the badly applied lip swatches above. It was late at night, and I was tired.

I find the Tender color to be like My Lips But a Little More Pink.

Starlet comes off more pink in the lip swatch, but it is very red in real life. It may have been the lighting (I was in artificial lighting), so I’m blaming the color whoops on that. Just trust me: it’s red.

 

Pros…

  • $1.50!!
  • Good pigmentation
  • Nice color selection
  • Sleek-looking packaging
  • Long-wearing (unless you eat)
    • Good through drinking
  • Does not feel overly dry

Cons…

  • Lipstick can get on cap if you aren’t careful
  • Comes off when you eat
  • Cheap-feeling packaging
  • Color range limited to pinks, purples, red, and neutrals in that family
    • in case you wanted bolder colors

Final Thoughts

I’d say this is a total purchase.

Good pigment, lasting power, color choices (in the pink/purple/red range).

These lipsticks will wear throughout the day with little reapplication. I think the darker colors will take less maintenance, so I recommend those over the lighter shades if you are just choosing one.

For $1.50, I don’t think you could go wrong. If you don’t like it, give it to one of your young children, siblings, nieces, or any other little kid that wants to play with makeup. That’s what I do. Haha.

So tell me…are these on your next makeup wishlist? Perhaps a pick up at the drugstore?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

-Hannah 🙂

 

One thought on “LA Colors Matte Lipstick Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

