Indie

Review & Swatches: Leo Dicaprio Eyeshadow & Mini Haul of Shiro Cosmetics

I’ve recently stumbled upon the wonderful world of indie cosmetics, and I’m so glad I did. Not only do (most) indie companies offer affordable cosmetics, but a lot of them have fun pop culture references as titles with correlating lid art.

Shiro Cosmetics is no stranger to the cool collection scene. They offer products (eyeshadows, lip products, and face powders) with themes of Harry Potter, Avengers, Hobbit, Game of Thrones, and more. It is seriously awesome looking through the collections and fangirling over how cool everything is. I ordered a few more products during their anniversary sale (which is going on as I type this and will be over in a few days), and I am so excited for them to arrive!

Since I had never ordered from an indie company before, I had no idea what to expect. I’d done my research, seen color swatches, and picked a few colors I don’t usually wear.

I picked up three eyeshadow sample baggies, one contour powder sample, and one full-size jar. My order also came with two free sample baggies and a Dum Dum sucker. From what I’ve read, each order comes with free samples and a small treat, which I think is a really nice touch. Mine came wrapped in a paper bag with the cute logo sticker holding it shut.

paperbag.png

She even wrote “Thanks Hannah!” on my order sheet (not pictured). I swear, it’s the little things…

Here’s a breakdown of the sample size compared to the full-size and mid-size:

  • Eyeshadow
    • Sample
      • $1
      • 1/4 teaspoon
    • Mid-size
      • $3.75
      • 1 gram
    •  Full-size
      • $6-6.50
      • 2 grams
  • Contour
    • Sample
      • $1.50
      • 1/4 teaspoon
    • Full-size
      • $9
      • 3.5 grams

products.png

 

Listed below are the eyeshadows I got (sample sizes unless noted otherwise)

  • Have a Biscuit, Potter
  • Glowstick of Destiny
  • There’s No Such Thing as Magic
  • You Want These Lumps
  • You’ve Raised My Frosty Dander
  • Finally an Oscar for Leo DiCaprio (full-size)

Contour product purchased (sample size):

  • Do Your Research

 

Now on to what you’ve all been waiting for…the swatches! Please keep in mind I’m working on my swatch game, so these may not be the most professional swatches.

 

***ALL SWATCHES ARE DONE ON A BARE ARM WITH NO PRIMER OR BASE***

 

These are all seven swatches lined up.

ArmSwatch.png

From left to right: Do Your Research (contour), Have a Biscuit Potter, Glowstick of Destiny, There’s No Such Thing As Magic, You Want These Lumps, You’ve Raised My Frosty Dander, Finally an Oscar for Leo DiCaprio.

 

Do Your Research contour powder

research.png
Shiro’s Do Your Research contour

Collection: Sherlock contour powders

Claim: Cool, matte ashy taupe.

My Take: This is a matte contour, but on my skin it came out a little less taupe and more yellowish-brown. I’m not surprised given even the pinkest of foundation shades will sometimes look yellow on me and my one step up from albino skin. I could definitely see this as a contour color if you’re light skinned and going for a natural look.

 

Have a Biscuit, Potter eyeshadow

bisquit
Shiro’s Have a Biscuit, Potter

Collection: Marauders, Mugwumps, and Muggles (Harry Potter)

Claim: Pure metallic emerald, gives an intense depth of color without being too dark in the base. 

My Take: I think saying it is a metallic emerald green is accurate, but I also think this is darker than it shows on the website. The Shiro website has it as a brighter version, but that may just be picture lighting versus picture lighting. With that being said, it is GORGEOUS.

 

Glowstick of Destiny

glowstick.png
Shiro’s Glowstick of Destiny

Collection: Earth’s Mighiest Heroes (Avengers)

Claim: Muted Tesseract blue with strong golden duochrome.

My Take: This may be one of the most unusual eyeshadow colors I have ever had the pleasure of swatching (and one of my favorites I own). It looks like an almost baby blue shimmer color, but when it is reflected in the light, you can definitely see the sheer golden mask over it. They don’t sell anything like this at Sephora or Ulta that I’ve seen. It’s a good lid color for when you want something fun for the every day but don’t want to wear too bright of a color. It’d be perfect with a light cream in the crease and a navy blue in the outer corner.

 

There’s No Such Thing as Magic

magic.png
Shiro’s There’s No Such Thing as Magic

Collection: Collection: Marauders, Mugwumps, and Muggles (Harry Potter)

Claim: A pleasant ballet pink dampened down with a very Dursleyish greige. Matte, of course, and proud of it.

My Take: I don’t know if I got a weird batch or what, but this does not look pink at all to me. The color I swatched had more of an orangish-tan look to it with a hint of shimmer-not matte. Don’t get me wrong, it is a nice color, but it’s not the ballet pink or greige. Weird…I still liked it and may order another sample just to see if there is a difference. This was not swatched over any primer, but when I put it over NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk, it still looked similar to the color in the swatch.

 

You Want These Lumps

lumps.png

Collection: The Algebraic Collection (Adventure Time)

Claim: Satin lilac loaded with gold glitter.

My Take: I received  this as a free sample, and boy, am I glad I did. It’s another beautifully done color. The description is pretty accurate, but I do detect a lot of pink in that lilac color. Another great color for the lid. I’ve never seen an episode of Adventure Time and don’t understand the reference, but I may have to order a full-size of this one anyway.

 

You’ve Raised My Frosty Dander

dander.png
Shiro’s You’ve Raised My Frosty Dander

Collection: The Algebraic Collection (Adventure Time)

Claim: Satin silvery ice-blue highlight with subtle aqua glimmer.

My Take: Another reference I do not understand, but another color I like. I’d say everything about the claim is accurate on this color except I do not see much-if any-of the aqua glimmer. It’s a sheer formula (even with a primer and a base), but it looks pretty on the lid. It’s buildable. It’s too bright for my every day, but it manages to make my green eyes pop. If you want fun, this is another good color to choose.

 

Finally an Oscar for Leo DiCaprio ($6)

leo.png
Shiro’s Finally an Oscar for Leo DiCaprio

Collection: None (that I know of)

Claim: Pale cool gold highlight with a warmer yellow-gold shift and red and copper sparkle. Only available in full-size.

My Take: Okay, I’m in love. Pictures (especially my mediocre ones) do not do this color justice. It’s spot on with the description, opaque, a GORGEOUS lid color, and it’s named after Leo FREAKING DiCaprio! What more could you possibly want? If you buy any of these eyeshadows, I recommend this one. I’m not even one for gold colors, but this makes me want to purchase every color even remotely similar, and I have no idea why. Just give it a shot.

Take a look at this lid art!!!

leolid.png
Shiro’s Finally an Oscar for Leo DiCaprio lid art

 

I’m very happy with my purchase, and like I said earlier, I will (and already have!!!) purchase from this company again. They’re personal, affordable, and have great collections with a wide variety of color.

 

Tell me in the comments if you liked any of the colors or have tried anything from Shiro Cosmetics. I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

-Hannah 🙂

***This post is not affiliated with Shiro Cosmetics in any way. All products were purchased by me, and all thoughts are honest and my own.***

Leave a Reply

