Brushes · Contour/Highlight · drugstore · Eyes · Eyeshadow · Face · Fave Five Fridays · Lips · Lipstick · Uncategorized

Fave Five Fridays: elf Cosmetics

People are always sharing opinions in the beauty world, and since my blog covers all my opinions, I thought I’d start a new series. This series is called Fav Five Fridays (obvi by the title). One Friday (or two if I’m really on the ball) each month will feature a my favorite items from a single brand. This could be a drugstore, indie, or a high-end brand, and I may have a little story to go along with how I got turned on to the brand or why I do/do not like the brand. It’s a way for my to share products I love, share a little about myself, and learn what my readers love, too! It’s a win-win!

This first week I choose the brand that basically started my makeup love (obsession, more like). I was really into makeup as a little girl, and my grams would let me play with hers and sometimes do hers. It was like heaven for little ol’ me. I didn’t officially wear makeup until a bad run with only black eyeshadow, black eyeliner, and black mascara in the eighth grade (I thought it was awesome). I quickly got over that and picked up again into the ninth grade.

I remember going into Target with my grams one day set on wearing a nude lipstick. She agreed but was not going to spend buku bunches (something she says frequently) of money on something I may never wear. So we went looking…and here enters elf cosmetics. My grams was always a fan, and I immediately was too. She bought me a nude matte lipstick that I still have to this day. I’ve learned too nude of a color isn’t my thing since then, but I like keeping the lipstick for the nostalgia. Since that time, I’ve been obsessed with elf cosmetics.

But who wouldn’t be? Affordable makeup, excellent quality, and amazing sales on their website. You’d be hard-pressed to find better products for the price range elf offers.

all;.png

I own so many elf products, but I don’t own them all. These are five of my favorites of all time. I could have picked so many other items, but these are the current faves I have.

I’ve noticed elf has raised some of their $3 product prices to $4, so I’ve included the prices in case you didn’t know how much they currently cost.

I decided not to include their brushes because they are technically not makeup. Just know, the studio line is my favorite brush line. I recommend any brush from that.

(In no particular order)

Baked Eyeshadow Trios – $4

trios.png

These baked trios are some of the best drugstores offer. They’re pigmented, wet or dry, and come in four different shade ranges. I own Lavender Love and Brown Bonanza. I find I can create complete eye looks with just the three colors they give. They’re shimmery but not chunky sparkles. The darkest color in the trios tend to be the mattest.

Moisturizing Lipsticks – $3

lipsticks

A highly underrated lipstick at the drugstore. They do come off easily, but they glide on like butter if you rubbed butter all over your lips. I don’t know why you’d do that but just imagine that analogy. They are very pigmented and very moisturizing (probably why they don’t last long). I think the pros (pigment, moisture) out way the cons (not long lasting). For the price, you can’t go wrong.

The packaging has been changed within the last year, I guess. The one on the right (Pink Minx) is the older packaging while the one on the left (Flirty & Fabulous) is the new one. As far as I know, nothing is different with the formula or performance. The newer packaging does offer a break-off bottom the contains a bit of the product in there, so that’s a nice addition.

Contour Palette – $6

This palette includes four colors: cream highlight powder, yellow setting powder, and two contour colors. Each color pops out, so you can mix your other elf palettes to create the ultimate elf palette if that’s what you wanted to do. It has a huge mirror, which is a major plus.

I think this caters to a good range of skin tones considering I can use it on my pale self without it turning orange. I can never find a color that doesn’t turn a different color by the end of the day. It does wear off a bit, so reapplication may be necessary if you’re going out for the night. The only major downside would be those with very dark skin. I don’t know if this would work or it you’d have to use a lot of product in the contour. If anyone has dark skin and has tried this palette, let me know how it went for you.

Mad for Matte Eyeshadow Palette – $10

A pretty pricey product for elf, but I think it’s worth every penny. This may be the best drugstore matte eyeshadow I own. It comes in a nice range of colors, and they are all very pigmented and soft. There is a little kick-up, but it’s not a deal breaker for me. I was going to buy Too Faced’s or Urban Decay’s matte eyeshadow palette, but I held back after purchasing this on sale at my local drugstore (but I’ll probably end up buying them both because I’m a makeup junkie). If you try only one elf product, try this.

Eyebrow Kit in Medium – $3

I use this in my brows everyday that I don’t use a basic eyeshadow. This is a great eyebrow product that comes with a cream and a powder that go together well. There are four shades to choose from, so unless you dyed your hair a funky color, you should be able to find something similar to your brows. A great $3 investment. It would be good for on-the-go or everyday use.

What are your favorite elf products? Share with me down below!

-Hannah:)

Leave a Reply

