drugstore · Face · Primer/Setting · Purchase or Pass

Nyx Hydra Touch Primer Review

For someone with extremely dry skin, finding a primer that hydrates my face is hard. I’d say that searching for the perfect primer is the second hardest product to find (next to foundation), and I have yet to find something that is perfect for me.

Sure, I have primers that I like that I wear with specific foundations, but I have yet to find my Holy Grail. I liked Perfectly Posh’s primer quite a bit that I reviewed here, but I can’t wear it with every foundation that I own. The hunt still continues.

I picked up Nyx’s Hydra Touch Primer on a whim while shopping at Ulta one day with my mom. Nyx was buy one get one half off, so I thought “what the heck?” I’d heard some people compare this to the Smashbox hydrating primer (I have never tried that one), which retails for $42, and there had been mixed reviews.

20160701_160052.jpg
Nyx Hyrda Touch Primer

 

Before I get into more details, let’s get down to basics.

The Basic Questions

  • How much am I paying?
    • $13.99
  • How much product am I getting?
    • 1.05 oz
  • Where can I buy these?
    • Ulta, Ulta.com, nyxcosmetics.com, Target, Target.com, any drugstore
  • Is this a limited edition product/collection?
    • Nope.
  • How many colors/shades does it come in?
    • This is a product one its own, but Nyx does make various other primers
  • What does it feel like?
    • It’s a smooth product. I’d say it’s a little lighter than a moisturizer but it is not runny.
  • What does the product look like?
    • It’s a light blue shade that is almost white.
  • What does the packaging look like?
    • This primer comes in a blue squeeze tube with a black cap that screws off. It’s sleek and not bulky. Perfect size for the product.

20160701_160104.jpg
Squeeze tube with screw off cap

The Claims (according to Ulta.com)

Enhance your complexion from the inside out with NYX Cosmetics’ Hydra Touch Primer! This formula creates a smooth, glowing canvas for flawless, long-lasting coverage. Enhanced with skin-loving ingredients like chamomile, green tea and ginseng root extract your skin will feel soft, smooth and refreshed.

 

Applying the Primer

This primer is a smooth feeling product that is not runny when it comes out of the tube. It starts off as a light blue-almost white shade, but it blends out clear when applied on the face.

It feels as though I’m applying a light moisturizer to my face. It almost melts into my face in a comfortable way. After it sets in, it doesn’t feel like I put anything on. It does not feel like there is any difference to my face than before I put the product on. My face does not feel moisturized. It feels, basically, as if I had normal skin that is on the verge of drying.

My face does not look any different than when there was no primer. Honestly, it has the same impact as a light moisturizer. It does not smooth out anything or adjust color when it is worn alone (no foundation). It does not claim to do either, but with most primers I have tried-high end or drugstore-my pores will be slightly blurred and my redness would be toned down. I did not find it made too much of a noticeable difference.

20160701_160222.jpg
Nyx Hydra Primer is a very light blue-basically white color. It goes from this color to clear when spread.
20160701_160259.jpg
Another close shot. It looks soft, and it is upon initial application.

 

 

Wearing the Primer

I’ve tried this primer with a few different foundations, and I have found the same result in all of them in regards to longevity. The primer does not make a substantial difference in wear time. I didn’t notice my foundation lasting any longer than it normally did.

I mentioned previously that it does not do anything when first put on in regards to how it looks, but it did make a difference when I actually had foundation on. It created a smooth base when first applied, and some of my more forgiving foundations still looked good at the end of the day. My foundations that weren’t so forgiving (ie. got cakey and patchy throughout the day) only looked smooth when first applied and then went on with their cakey/patchy ways.

 

Purchase or Pass? (And Suggestions)

 

Overall, I’d say pass. As much as I love the Nyx brand, I don’t think this is one of their best products. It doesn’t do enough-in my experience-to suggest this product to anyone. It just didn’t do anything for my skin or my foundation. I find Nivea Post Shave Balm to be a better, cheaper primer for dry skin (just make sure you wash and moisturize your face well beforehand).

I’ve heard good things about Nyx’s other primers, so I may have to try some of them. I haven’t completely given up hope.

 


 

Like with all products, this may have worked for you even though it didn’t work for me.

Let me know below your thoughts and experiences!

-Hannah:)

Leave a Reply

