drugstore · Primer/Setting

Physician’s Formula #InstaReady Setting Spray Review | MissMasquerade

Hello, everybody!

Sorry I’ve been a bit MIA. I’ve had a lot going on with work, family, and what not, so I haven’t had much time to focus on beauty. But I’m back now and hopefully will be able to give you guys more reviews in the near future.

Any who…after watching Tati’s newest drugstore makeup shopping video, I had to hit up CVS. CVS was having some deals where if you spend so much on one brand, you can get reward-type money back for a future purchase. For instance, if you spent $12 on Physician’s Formula, you got $8 to spend. Heck of a deal, right? I had no choice but to get something. The makeup-o-holic in me could not help herself. Video is here.

In the present day, setting sprays are all the rage. They claim to make your makeup mesh together and settle in to a perfect look that lasts all day. The most well-known would be the Urban Decay All Nighter setting spray. While I have not tried that one, I have tried many, many others. I can definitely tell when a setting spray works or does not.

I picked up the newer Physician’s Formula #InstaReady Setting Spray for $12.99, which was just above the requirements in the CVS deal. This is the retail price that it gives on the Physician’s Formula website, but I would believe it to be a little cheaper if you bought it at Walmart.

It comes with 3.4 fluid ounces in a black bottle with silver rings around it.

I would have included pictures of my makeup had I thought you would be able to tell the difference of the before/after application. There was no use. I was a little excited to finally post again that I only included pictures from the Physician’s Formula website. Sorry about that. I had no patience when writing this review, apparently. lol.

Physician’s Formula #InstaReady Setting Spray (photo taken from physiciansformula.com)

 

Ingredients: Water/eau, Alcohol denat., Butylene Glycol, Fomes Officinalis (mushroom) Extract, Propanediol, Isododecane, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, PVP, Aluminum Chlorohydrate, Citric Acid, Decyl Glucoside, Sodium Hydroxide, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol

 

On the Physician’s Formula website, the claims read:

  • Longwearing, mattifying Setting Spray delivers selfie-ready makeup for all day wear.
  • High-tech formula works to instantly mattify, blur, and visibly retexturize skin.
  • Hypoallergenic. Fragrance Free. Paraben Free. Gluten Free. Cruelty Free. Dermatologist Tested. Clinically Tested.

 

Now, I like to try out a product before I read the claims. I sometimes like to buy products without seeing/reading any reviews because I don’t want my opinion to be altered by what another person says. If it’s an expensive product, I’ll research and research and research. I’m more flexible when it comes to drugstore makeup that I can get a deal on. I don’t know why. I picked this up because I needed a setting spray and because of the great deal I was getting.

I’ve worn this setting spray for the past few days, but that was all I needed. Some people say you need weeks to tell if you like a product or not, but I don’t think that’s necessarily true. Most times I find I know how I feel about a product within the first week, and this was the case.

This product tells you to hold the bottle away eight inches from the face like any other spray. I won’t go into how to apply it because I feel people already know how to use a makeup spray.

– – –

This product sprays finely all over the face. It is not big drops of liquid splashing all over your face like other sprays. Drugstore-wise, the WetnWild setting spray or even the elf Mist & Set come to mind. Both of those are good products, but the mist is too chunky, and I find I have to transfer the liquid into another bottle. I don’t have that problem with this bottle. This sprays evenly. It is probably my new favorite setting spray bottle.

The website claims this is a mattifying spray, but I do not find that to be the case. It is pretty hydrating and sinks into the skin nicely without drying it out. I have dry skin, and it makes no difference in the matte department. I think any skin type could use this product.

I don’t know if it blurs or retexturizes the skin, but it does make the makeup look and feel set. It does as good as any setting spray with a fine mist can do. It makes everything look like one. I find I still have to set my face with a powder before I use this spray, but that’s okay. This spray takes away the powdery look.

This product does not break me out or irritate the skin. I had a problem with the WetnWild spray irritating my very sensitive skin, so I stopped using it.

– – –

Does it make the makeup last longer? I don’t really see any difference. I don’t really believe most setting sprays make the makeup last longer. There are a few, but more are finishing sprays instead of setting sprays. Finishing sprays make the makeup come together; setting sprays make the makeup last longer. This is a finishing spray, in my experience. (Here is a reddit form about the difference between the two.)

– – –

Would I suggest this product?

Sure, if you want a finishing spray. If you want a setting spray, then no.

This product is good at making everything look like one smooth canvas. It does not irritate the skin, ruin the makeup, or anything like that. In my experience, it does not have any contribution to longevity, so using a powder to set your foundation is still needed.

I really like the fine mist and will continue to use this product.

Do you guys like this spray? Let me know your thoughts!

-Hannah:)

 

*Product purchased by me. Opinions are honest and my own.

Leave a Reply

